Home

Today is Sunday, August 18th.

Tomorrow I return to my excellent job as an instructor after a three-week hiatus [during which I travelled to California for a week after sleeping at home for a week… but I digress].

It is difficult to believe that summer 2013 is really coming to a close now that teachers and students are getting ready to return to work and school. Oh, it will still be blazing hot here in Boise for at least another month -how wonderful. [Said with complete and utter sarcasm: if you know me personally, you know that above 90 and I get cranky].

This past week I was lucky enough to get out to our lovely Idaho mountains north of McCall. The temperatures above 5000 feet are admirable when Boise has been ringing in at anywhere between 90 and 105 degrees. Again, no thank you.

So if I’m not in my centrally air-conditioned home, and if  I’m not in Quinn Pond-a local favorite for cooling off- then I’m trying to figure out how to get out of Boise to the mountains.

For the first time since ski season my little love-bug of a truck got to take an overnight excursion, and I know she was just thrilled… it’s been too long since I used to drive her all around the Pacific Northwest. I have a feeling she was feeling pretty proud of herself dragging me and a friend and our Stand-Up paddle boards and gear into the hills.

Due to the unfortunate fires that have accosted the areas of Idaho near Ketchum and Stanley we had to abandon our original plan to hike in the Sawtooths.

Luckily, we found a new gem of a rustic place. Burgdorf Hot Springs is not for those of you who prefer luxury, pool boys offering you a drink, or even running water. The cabins are rustic: read, BYOEverything. However, for all the rustic feel, the price is fair.

The hot spring waters are amazing. Clean, hot, and surrounded by natural beauty this location made me feel as if I were in an old ghost town sans being abandoned.

Needless to say, if you live anywhere near Boise you need to put this place on your bucket list, post haste!

That said, the idea to “refurbish” this blog occured to me as I enjoyed the lovely drive home – a mere three hours! It’s time to get motivated to write more, and what would by my objective? I asked myself.

As you can imagine, after having such an amazing adventure in fall 2012 and feeling a bit remiss about settling back into consistent employment no matter how wonderful the work is, the decision to have a focus on getting out into nature wouldn’t surprise you one bit!

So without further ado, let’s re-begin with our mini-series on Getting Out!

Please enjoy the photos and make time to get out and do something yourselves… see you in part 2 of 3.

lovely reflections on upper payette lake

lovely reflections on upper payette lake

My very happy truck: on the road again looking rad.

My very happy truck: on the road again looking rad.

View of the springs area from the rented rustic cabin.

View of the springs area from the rented rustic cabin.

the healing lithium-rich waters at Burgdorf.

the healing lithium-rich waters at Burgdorf.

Loveliness in a rustic natural setting.

Loveliness in a rustic natural setting.

One thought on “Getting Out: Part 1 of 2

  1. Lovely. I have never heard of Burgdorf, but will definitely put it on my list of places to visit. Next week we are going to Sandpoint and I am so freakin’ excited to explore Northern Idaho, as I’m never been. I’m looking forward to learning about other random places from you.:-)

Leave a Reply

