Home

 

Looking out the Gondola window.

Looking out the Gondola window.

 

I love to ski.

I love to ski fast

I love to ski fast downhill.

I love to ski and when I say I love to ski I don’t just mean it in a superficial way like a quick 20 second public service announcement.

I love to ski and when I say this it means that I love to ski to the center of my heart and to the depths of my soul.

I say this and it means that it fills me up, andit grounds me to this world when I can be very flighty and ungrounded in many other arenas…

I say this and it means that it helps create and mold who I am becoming and who I will be the next day, the next week, and the next time something challenging comes my way.

It fills me with renewal, with a sense of contentement, and with a raw emotion that combines a feeling of natural high and appreciating being in nature so high up. Of enjoying lovely vistas when returning to the top on the lift… Of feeling blessed to be outside with fresh air to breathe and fresh vistas to appreciate at every angle…. of breathing deep and inhaling a divine pine scent from evergreens that line the slopes… of appreciating the geometry and math that hides inside a run full of moguls… of searching the slopes for a new bump or drop off and being thrilled and awed that my ability improves just about every time I go.

I love to ski.

I love to ski and when I express this it means that I love everything that goes with it that doesn’t get discussed enough and that not everyone thinks about. I love the gorgeous views of symmetrical peaks in the distance. I love the feel of doing something that reminds me I am an athletic, able, outdoorsy kinda gal. I love the sense that I can get down anything that my local ski place has to offer. I love realizing that I’m not as scared to find myself on a run too difficult, because now that I’ve been downhill skiing for seven years I can get myself down anything.

And I feel proud of that fact.

And I feel content that skiing is naturally my favorite sport.

And when I say it’s my favorite sport I don’t mean that in a trivial way, but in a way that says that the sport is my favorite for all of the above reasons, that it ties me to the natural world in a way that empowers and enlivens me, and for all these things I feel grateful.

~K

Awesome mountains surrounding Lake Louise, Banff area.

Awesome mountains surrounding Lake Louise, Banff area.

Lovely mist heading up

Lovely mist heading up

Accidental Selfie on the GoPro

Accidental Selfie on the GoPro

Stoked to ski the German Alps! 2012

Stoked to ski the German Alps! 2012

TOP tippy top

TOP tippy top

Leave a Reply

